The status of quinoa, the grain-like crop, was the most-asked question for the last few years on the OU’s various kashrut forums across the web and in person. Following an intensive, multi-year investigation and an internal debate into quinoa’s status, the Orthodox Union has decided that it can certify quinoa for Passover. In addition, OU […]
Consumers have long been accustomed to various designations associated with the OU symbol (OU-D, OU-Parve, OU-Glatt, OU-Fish and of course OU-P). This year consumers will be finding more and more stores stocking products with yet another designation, OU-Kitniyot. Why the new designation? What does it really mean? Since medieval times it has been the practice in […]
“Hai man denafik beyomei Nissan vechazi elanei d’ka milbalvi omer…” (Tractate Brachot 43b) If one goes outside during the month of Nissan and sees trees that are blossoming he recites a blessing (Birkat Ha’Ilanot). The bracha is noted in the tractate Brachot and the Code of Jewish Law (O.C. 226). Baruch atah Adonay Elohaynu melech […]
Ashkenazic custom does not allow eating kitniyot (legumes) on Passover. Included in this category are rice, corn and all types of beans. So why are we permitted to eat chocolate on Passover? Isnʼt chocolate derived from the cacao bean? Although they are referred to as beans, cocoa beans are not legumes at all. They are […]
There are few foods that arouse excitement and stir emotions as passionately as chocolate. Chocolate has been enjoyed for centuries, though developments in the chocolate industry over the years have brought with them unique kosher (and kosher-for-Passover) challenges and opportunities. The chocolate industry is divided into two basic segments: chocolate makers and confectioners. Chocolate makers […]
Selling leaven of Jewish owned companies for Passover accomplishes two functions. Firstly, it prevents the owners of the leaven from violating the Bibilical prohibition of owning leaven as it states in Exodus (12:19), “For seven days leaven shall not be found in your houses”. Secondly, it saves the leaven from becoming forbidden after the Passover […]
Ever since that red-letter day in 1923, when the first OU symbol appeared on that historic can of Heinz beans, the Rabbis of OU Kosher have faced a formidable task: explaining kosher to kosher-certified companies.
The food service establishments listed below have OU Kosher for Passover certification on a limited basis. Kosher for Passover status will be verified either by the presence of an OU-P logo on sealed food packages, or by an OU Kosher for Passover letter of certification which specifies where and when food service programs are certified […]
When making kosher wine purchases in preparation for Pesach everyone makes certain to look for the OUP or OU Kosher for Passover designations on the label.
A refresher on tevillat keilim and a primer on its practical applications.