Passover

The information below is only applicable for Passover 2019

Why Do Decaffeinated Coffee and Tea Need Passover Certification?

OU Kosher Staff

Regular, unflavored coffee or black tea are considered kosher for Passover without a special certification, but the same is not true for decaffeinated teas and coffees. Rabbi Elefant explains the decaffeination process and what makes it problematic for Passover.


Get the OU Kosher App

Search all OU Products for Passover and year-round. Get Kosher alerts, new product updates and just click to ask a question.