Passover Articles

Reflections on the Seder from OU Rabbis

A collection of divrei Torah for the Seder.

Pesach Halacha Yomis

Under the direction of the Halacha Yomis program editors, the staff has selected questions and teshuvot for the eight days of Pesach.

How Does the OU Certify… Cheese, Flavors, Lettuce

Cheese is the most kosher-sensitive dairy product—and Passover is no exception.

How Does The OU Certify a Pesach Hotel: A Checklist

Turning over our homes and personal kitchens for Pesach is an arduous task. Effectively achieving this in a foodservice setting is all the more so…

Remembering Rabbi Belsky, zt”l

In talking about the Ri Migash (11th – 12th-century Spanish commentator), Maimonides says that “his intellect was frightening throughout the Talmud.” In the same way, all who knew Rabbi Chaim Yisroel Belsky were struck by his exceptional brilliance and his commanding knowledge of the body of Jewish law. This brilliance, however, went beyond the scope of Torah learning.

Navigating Kitchen Appliance Technology

Kitchen appliances have come a long way in recent years. Discover what Shabbat observers need to know about some of the challenges technology presents.

Matzah 101

It merely consists of flour and water but it’s a far more complex kosher product than you might imagine – enter the world of unleavened bread.

The Modern Kitchen

Is it kashering info for Passover you seek? You’ve come to the right place. Here’s what you need to know for microwaves, ovens, refrigerators and more.

OU-P 2016

Find out what’s new for 2016!

Why do Certain Products Require Special OU-P Certification?

EVERYONE KNOWS that the main category of food prohibited to eat on Passover is chametz. Chametz is defined in halacha as a product of one of five grains that has fermented through contact with water. The five grains are wheat, barley, spelt, oats and rye. This prohibition includes all products made with flour derived from these […]