Passover is a time when the Kosher consumer faces additional dietary restrictions. Leavened bread, termed chometz, is forbidden. The well-known traditional baked staple permitted and associated with Passover is matzah, which is baked from dough that does not rise. The dough used for matzah contains no yeast, just flour and water, and must be baked…
Supermarkets across the globe know just the right moment to signal the Jewish consumer’s Passover panic. About six weeks before the holiday begins, the conspicuous Passover display reminders appear–endless boxes of matzah, jars upon jars of gefilte fish, and bottles of grape juice, throwing the calmest of consumers into a flurry of mental ruminations. “How…
An explanation of food colorants and its implications for Kosher supervision.
The beginnings of the Orthodox Union’s Kashruth Division and the world famous OU symbol.
A clarification of confusing terms such as Lactic acid/Lactose/lactones; valerian/valeric acid, glycerol (glycerin)/glycol/glycine; inositol/inositate; whey/whey cream/cream
A summary of the reasons why food may be exempt from the rules of Bishul Akum.
The Halakhic implications and status of low fat and artificial cheeses.