Consumer Kosher

Pareve Natural Cheese Flavor

June 27, 2005

How can you have a pareve garlic and cheese flavored melba toast with natural cheese flavor?

Read More

General Technical Issues in Vinegar Plants

May 19, 2005

A vinegar plant appears to be a mass of gigantic, non-descript tanks, each one indistinguishable from one another. That’s the first problem that mashgichim face when visiting vinegar companies. Production is hidden within the tanks, and until mashgichim develop an understanding of how the vinegar is made, it is not at all easy to follow…

Read More

Not by Bread Alone Does Man Live: Potato Products

May 11, 2005

A discussion of many of the issues involved in producing Kosher potato products.

Read More

Peeled Eggs, Onion or Garlic Overnight

May 3, 2005

There are companies which sell peeled hard-boiled eggs and deviled eggs. This article examines the general issue of certification of hard-boiled eggs and similar items.

Read More

Which Foods Are Chametz?

April 13, 2005

An overview of the issues in determining what is chometz.

Read More

Ever Hear of Pasta Ice Cream?

April 4, 2005

Why Dairy Products Must Be Kosher for Passover

Read More

The Modern Passover Marketing Story

April 4, 2005

Rabbis travel half way around the globe for special production runs that may last no more than a day, although preparation may take as much as a week. Major national brands remove ingredients from their products, often replacing them with such popular Passover ingredients as apple cider and potato starch, all in deference to the…

Read More

Behind the “Chometz-Free” Certification

April 4, 2005

For industrial products, the familiar OUP (kosher for Passover) can sometimes be replaced by a “chometz-free” certification. What does this mean? To find out, studying some terminology will be in order. CHOMETZ Fermented grains (wheat, oats, barley, rye and spelt), all proscribed–that is, forbidden—on Passover; KITNIYOS Legume products, also not for Passover use, but of…

Read More

A Chemical Reaction at Passover

April 4, 2005

TO A LARGE EXTENT, the chemical industry is free from Passover issues because so many chemicals are exclusively mineral-based, as are the processing aids. However, it would be inaccurate to say that the regulations of Passover do not impact at all.We will focus on two critical areas: flocculants and alcohols. A flocculant is an agent…

Read More

Meeting the Challenge of Certifying Flavors for Passover

April 4, 2005

FLAVORS—THE MYSTERIOUS ingredients added to almost all processed foods that completes the gastronomic experience create unique challenges for Passover certification. Due to the nature of flavor chemicals and the complexity of their manufacture, every chemical in flavors requires individual investigation to determine its Passover status. No master list is available for the raw materials that…

Read More
Page 23 of 29