FLAVORS—THE MYSTERIOUS ingredients added to almost all processed foods that completes the gastronomic experience create unique challenges for Passover certification. Due to the nature of flavor chemicals and the complexity of their manufacture, every chemical in flavors requires individual investigation to determine its Passover status. No master list is available for the raw materials that […]
Passover is a holiday steeped in great tradition. Our ancestors, living in a world without manufacturing processes, prepared all the food used for Passover from scratch, involving great time and painstaking effort. Producing any more than the bare minimum that was needed for the holiday was out of the question. “You will survive without snacks […]
Passover is a time when the kosher consumer faces additional dietary restrictions. Leavened bread, termed chametz, is forbidden. The well-known traditional baked staple permitted and associated with Passover is matzah, which is baked from dough that does not rise. The dough used for matzah contains no yeast, just flour and water, and must be baked […]
Supermarkets across the globe know just the right moment to signal the Jewish consumer’s Passover panic. About six weeks before the holiday begins, the conspicuous Passover products display reminders appear–endless boxes of matzah, jars upon jars of gefilte fish, and bottles of grape juice, throwing the calmest of consumers into a flurry of mental ruminations. […]
An explanation of food colorants and its implications for Kosher supervision.
The beginnings of the Orthodox Union’s Kashruth Division and the world famous OU symbol.
A clarification of confusing terms such as Lactic acid/Lactose/lactones; valerian/valeric acid, glycerol (glycerin)/glycol/glycine; inositol/inositate; whey/whey cream/cream
Sugar Alcohols and their implications for Kosher Certification.
A review of the chocolate industry and its implications for Kosher.
A summary of the reasons why food may be exempt from the rules of Bishul Akum.