Consumer Kosher Articles

Yoshon

The source for the laws pertaining to Yoshon are found in Vayikra (23:9-14). These laws are applicable to the Chamishas HaMinim of barley, oats, rye, spelt and wheat.

These grains are Yoshon if they took root prior to Pesach. If the grains did not take root prior to Pesach then they are chadash until the subsequent Pesach. There is a halachic dispute if the hashrashah (grain taking root) must be 3 days or two weeks prior to Pesach. The laws of chadash do not apply to other grains such as rice, corn and buckwheat.

Milchigs and Fleishigs in the Oven

What could be wrong with… ? – Part I

When I was a child, shopping for a kosher candy bar was a simple matter. In those days, a candy bar was only a nickel. We would carefully review the ingredients printed on the back label. If there was no gelatin in the candy, we wisely concluded that the product was unquestionably kosher. No matter […]

English Pruzbul Form for Shemittah

Pruzbul Form In the presence of the undersigned three judges (dayanim), duly constituting a Bet Din, there appeared before us                                                                       who declared before us as follows:   “I hereby turn over to you judges [insert names]                                                         ,                                                          and                                                      , in this place [insert place name]                                                         all of the debts owed to me, whether […]

Pruzbul: Ask the Rabbi

I have a friend who owes me 1,000 dollars.  He told me that once Rosh Hashanah comes, he will not have to pay me back.  Is that true? To answer we have to start from the beginning.  The Torah says in Devarim (Chapter 15, verses 1-2) “at the end of seven years…every creditor should release […]

OU Kosher Presents FAQ’s on Cheese in honor of Shavuos…

How is cheese made kosher? As with any food, all of the ingredients in the cheese as well as the equipment used during the manufacturing process must be kosher. However, a special prohibition makes kosher certification of cheese a bit more challenging: the ban on gevinat Akum, which means that cheese not made under special rabbinical […]

The Halachot of Waiting Between Meals

A overview and discussion of the laws of waiting between meat and milk

Say Cheese!

An overview of the procedure for making Kosher cheese and answers to some of the frequently asked questions about Kosher cheese.

Rabbi Eli Eleff Joins in Administering Kashrus Education

            Rabbi Yosef Grossman, OU Kosher Senior Educational Rabbinic Coordinator In the beginning, going back to 1996, there were the Advanced Seminars on Kashrus, OU Kosher’s ASK OU mashgiach training programs, held every other summer for three and one-week sessions. A decade later, the seminars became the Harry H. Beren […]

Rabbi Menachem Genack, CEO of OU Kosher

Rabbi Hershel Schachter once told me that if there’s a disagreement in matters of halacha at the OU between him and Rabbi Yisroel Belsky, you are the deciding vote. The halachic decisors at the OU are the three of us. So if there’s a dispute the majority rules. You’re also involved in running the office? […]