Medicine Guidelines

Guidelines for Medication

The OU poskim have summarized the principles one should use when taking medication on Passover.

Gluten Intolerance, Celiac, Allergies, and Pesach

Pesach Kashrus professionals are familiar with the intricacies of ingredients and food production. Often, consumers who have health concerns contact kashrus agencies in order to obtain information about foods and ingredients.

Lactose Intolerant

Can I buy Lactaid for Passover? Lactaid production is likely to involve chometz. This renders chewable lactaid tablets problematic. However, our Rabbinical authorities have decided that lactaid milk is permissible if purchased before Passover since any chametz contained within Lactaid milk would be nullified (batel). Lactaid non-chewable tablets are more complicated. Many rabbinical authorities permit […]

Nutritionals and Dietary Supplements

PLEASE NOTE THE FOLLOWING POINTS:  Many of the products contain kitniyot, some as the primary ingredient. Some of the products may contain minor ingredients that are possibly, though unlikely, produced from chametz-based raw materials. All such ingredients are used at a less than 1:60 ratio. Liquid versions of these products are preferable to their powdered […]

Gluten Allergies

Regretfully, because one can only perform the mitzvah of eating matzot at the Seder with a matzah that is made from one of the five varieties of grain (barley, wheat, rye, oats, and spelt), eating matzot using any of the other flours that are gluten free would still not enable one to fulfill the mitzvah. […]

Caring for Infants and the Infirm

Proper Passover observance requires not only detailed knowledge of halachot, but also an appreciation and awareness of the many traditions (minhagim) adhered to during the holiday dictating what one may and may not eat. While it is important that everyone follow family minhagim, it is also necessary to understand specific dispensations when dealing with the […]

Who Can Eat Egg Matzah?

According to the Shulchan Aruch, dough made from flour mixed with fruit juices or eggs will not become chametz no matter how long it stands, provided no water is added. Despite this ruling, Ashkenazic practice mandates that egg matzot may only be used by the elderly and the infirm. Furthermore, all the precautions associated with […]