Dairy Labeling Policy

Dairy labeling policy

The Orthodox Union requires the use of the OU-D symbol on products that contain dairy ingredients.

Generally, a product that bears an OU symbol without a “D” can be assumed to be pareve. Nonetheless, consumers are required to review the ingredients panel of products that are labeled OU [without a “D”] before concluding that the item is actually pareve.

The Orthodox Union certifies over 400,000 different products, and in rare instances, the “D” may be inadvertently omitted because of manufacturer errors. Though such mislabeling is usually spotted very quickly, some product may be distributed before the error is caught.

Dairy ingredients include the following: Milk, Yogurt, Cheese, Cream, Butter, Whey, Lactose, Casein, and Caeseinate

The Orthodox Union urges every Shul/Synagogue to assign one person to receive Kashruth Alerts via email. The assigned person should post the Kashruth Alerts in the Shul/Synagogue, thus ensuring maximum exposure of these vitally important public notifications.

To subscribe to Kashruth Alerts or for updated info., visit our website @ www.oukosher.org

OU Kosher Staff