The Union of Orthodox Jewish Congregations of America (the “Orthodox Union”) is the sole and exclusive owner of the certification mark, a federally and internationally registered trademark for kosher certification. It may only be used with the express written permission of the Orthodox Union Kosher Division.
Products are endorsed as kosher only when bearing the OU emblem on the label. Consumers are directed to check the ingredient panel of products on a regular basis for changes in the Kosher status that may occur as a result of reformulation.
Kosher updates appear regularly on this site and in the News Reporter section of the Orthodox Union publication Jewish Action. Kosher for Passover products under OU supervision are published annually in the Kosher Directory Passover Edition.
OU Kosher Certification Symbols for Pareve, Dairy and Meat Categorizations:
- – The products are Pareve (contain neither milk or meat ingredients). OU Pareve may contain fish or eggs.
- – The products are Dairy. These products either contain dairy ingredients or have been processed on dairy equipment.
- – The products are Meat/Poultry. Alternatively, they may contain meat/poultry ingredients or have been processed on meat equipment.