Since a bee is non-kosher, how can honey be kosher?

The Gemara (Bechoros 7b) cites two opinions as to why bee’s honey is permitted.  The Chachamim explain that honey is permitted because it is not a secretion. Rather, honey is the collected nectar in a different form, which is expelled from the bee.  Rebbi Yaakov says that the permissibility of bee’s honey is derived from a Talmudic exegesis of the verse in Vayikra (11:21):  “However, this you may eat from among all the flying insects…”