Red Flag Ingredients

May 5, 2004

The following is a current partial listing of common “Red Flag Ingredients” which one may come across in the flavor industry as well as other industries.

General Categories:

The following general categories almost always require Kosher certification:
Absolutes (e.g. Cassie Absolute, Jasmine Absolute etc.)
Aldehydes
Aromas
Butter Esters
Decalactones
Distillates
Emulsifiers
Enzymes
Extracts
Flavors
Hydrolized Plant Proteins (HPP)
Hydrolized Vegetables Proteins (HVP)
Lipases
Oleoresins (e.g. Oleoresin Turmeric, Oleoresin Paprika, etc.)
Polysorbates
Seasonings
Spice Blends
Tweens
Vegetable Oils (e.g. Peanut Oil, Soybean Oil, etc.)
WONF’s (With Other Natural Flavors)
Yeast Extracts and Pastes

Specific Ingredients:

The following ingredients are produced both in Kosher and non-Kosher forms. (Some examples of compounds containing these ingredients are in parenthesis)

Capric Acid
Caproic Acid (Ethyl Caproate etc.)
Caprylic Acid (Ethyl Caprylate etc.)
Decanoic Acid (= Caprylic Acid)
Ethyl Alcohol
Fusel Oil
Glycerine (and other Glyceryls)
Hexanoic Acid (= Capric Acid)
L-Glutamic Acid
Lauric Acid (Lauric Aldehyde etc.)
Myristic Acid (Ethyl Myristate etc.)
Nonanoic Acid (Nonyl Alcohol etc.)
Octanoic Acid ( = Caproic Acid)
Oenanthic Ether and Ethyl Oenanthate
Oleic Acid
Palmitic Acid (Ethyl Palmitate etc.)
Pelargonic Acid (Ethyl Pelargonate etc.)
Rum Ether
Soy Sauce
Stearic Acid (Butyl Stearate etc.)
Tri-Acetin
Vinegar
Whey Powder

In–Plant Supervision:

The following “delicate” ingredients are available in both Kosher and Non-Kosher grades.
Products using these ingredients in Kosher formulas generally require in-plant supervision.

Cheese
Gelatin
Grape Juice Conc.
Meat
Wine

Non-Kosher:

The following Ingredients are non-Kosher:

Castoreum
Civet
Oil of Cognac


Ask a Kosher Question

Become OU Certified

Just fill out a simple form, and we’ll personally contact you to guide you through the entire certification process.

Download the new company application form

Why Go Kosher