About ASK OU

As the leader in worldwide kosher certification, the Orthodox Union takes additional steps to serve as a leader in educating the public in matters of kosher law. Over the past several years, OU Kosher, in partnership with the Harry H. Beren Foundation of New Jersey, has developed numerous kashrus educational programs for the benefit of […]

Lab-Grown Meat The Controversy

by Yossi Krausz Unless you have vegetarian tendencies, there is a good chance you enjoy a juicy, flame-broiled steak. The caramelized results of the Maillard reaction, which gives browned food its distinctive flavor, make being an omnivore enjoyable. But pretty soon, even those who don’t eat meat from animals on philosophical grounds may be able to […]

Spread the Word! Not All Butters are Created Equal – or Kosher

“Do you have any kosher butter?” “What do you mean? Butter is always kosher!” Not necessarily. Butter is often kosher, but to use the word “always” is to deny the important concerns and considerations that must be taken into account when certifying butter facilities. The distinctions that come into play with cream sources, as well […]

Exclusive Partnership Between the OU and Kosher.com Offers New Video Series to Answer Kashrut FAQs

CAN YOU BUY COFFEE AT STARBUCKS? DOES YOUR MEDICATION NEED KOSHER CERTIFICATION? EXCLUSIVE PARTNERSHIP BETWEEN THE OU & KOSHER.COM OFFERS NEW SERIES “OU & YOU” THAT ANSWERS THESE FAQ’S AND MORE OU Kosher COO Rabbi Moshe Elefant is Among the Authorities Featured, Addressing Kashrut and Jewish Law NYC, NY, October 3, 2017 – If you’ve […]

Aged Cheese and Cheese Powders: New Discussion of an Age-Old Issue

We are familiar with the rule of refraining from consuming meat after eating certain types of cheese. In Yoreh Deah 89:2, the Rama writes, “And there are those who are strict and do not consume meat after eating cheese (source: Mordechai and Beis Yosef in the name of Maharam; v. Tur Yoreh Deah 89), and […]

ALMOST KOSHER IS NOT REALLY KOSHER!

IS IT ACCEPTABLE TO EAT OUT AT A VEGETARIAN OR VEGAN-FRIENDLY INDIAN RESTAURANT IF THE HASHGACHAH (CERTIFYING RABBI OR AGENCY) IS UNRELIABLE? In some circles, it has become increasingly common, and even acceptable, to eat out at Indian restaurants that are vegetarian or vegan-friendly even though the hashgacha may be unreliable. The thinking goes something like this: Indian […]

Show More