Stoli’s Gluten Free Vodka – OU Kitniyot: Approved for Passover for those of Sephardic Descent

OU Kosher Staff

Bartenders-in-the-know have been mixing Stoli Vodka in cocktails for presidents and other VIP’s for years. Now this award-winning spirit can be enjoyed by Sephardic Jews over Passover. Find out why.

Passover, which begins on Friday, March 30th, is not exactly known for clinking celebrative glasses of cocktails. Everything consumed and imbibed must pass the “is it kosher for Passover?” test. One would assume vodka, commonly made from grains such as sorghum, corn, rye or wheat, seemingly couldn’t possibly make the grade. Not necessarily.

Stoli Premium Vodka (which is made from the gluten grains wheat and rye), is now producing Stoli Gluten Free, a superior vodka made from a recipe of 88% corn and 12% buckwheat. This is very good news for Sephardic Jews, who comprise a majority of the Israeli population. Their Ashkenazic brethren hold by a more stringent tradition, refraining from eating or drinking anything made with or derived from kitniyot (Hebrew for legumes) over the holiday.

Kitniyot actually includes rice, millet, chick peas, beans, lentils, peas, fenugreek, edamame, cardamom, flaxseed, plus fennel, hemp, caraway, sesame, sunflower, and poppy seeds – as well as buckwheat and corn, the two main ingrediants in Stoli’s Gluten Free Vodka.

Gluten Free Vodka Production

Spirits that come from sugar aren’t immediately prohibited, but most distillers don’t want to jump through the hoops necessary to get certified “kosher for Passover.” Stoli, the original premium vodka with uncompromising quality since 1938, is proud to announce Stoli Gluten Free kosher for Passover vodka, a spirit specially treated to conform to the Passover’s kosher requirements. Each bottle of this unique vodka will be identifiable by the green and white “Kosher for Passover” sticker over the label.

The entire process of this kosher for Passover vodka is certified by OU Kosher rabbis, who directly supervise and inspect all the processing stages, including the dry goods, the production of alcohol and the blending and bottling of the liquid. OU Kosher audits all ingredients, starting with the enzymes, making sure that they were not contaminated with any non-applicable materials. Stoli Gluten Free kosher for Passover vodka is made in Riga, Latvia at the historic Latvijas Balzams facility.

The vodka combines century old traditions with modern distilling of the highest quality spirit, monitoring every aspect of its vodka-making from the planting and harvesting to the distillation and bottling. Stoli’s distillery produces a “narrow cut” –- the purest alcohols from the heart of the run. The amount of heads and tails that are removed is up to four times greater than most European distilleries. This tight control of the cut allows Stoli to distill just three times, and filter four with the benefit of retaining its subtle taste and character.

Stoli Gluten Free for Passover will be available in Israel in March of this year.