OU Kosher presents the top ten consumer questions received before Passover You can call the OU Kosher hotline (212-613-8241) to answer your Passover questions. NOTE: These statements are valid for Passover 2018 only. ——————————————————————————– 1. Q: Does water require special certification for Passover? A: All unflavored and without the addition of minerals bottled water, seltzer and sparkling water is kosher […]
The Tur (Orach Chaim, Siman 603), based upon the Talmud Yerushalmi, cites the custom for Jews to be stringent during the Aseres Yimei Teshuva to eat exclusively ‘Pas Yisroel’ bread. Even those Jews who generally do not exclusively eat ‘Pas Yisroel’ are encouraged to accept this practice during the period between Rosh Ha-Shanah and Yom […]
Mi-Hu Yehudi? Here’s an Erev Shabbos “mishap” you don’t hear about very often… A rabbi, the scion of a rabbinic dynasty, sees that things are particularly busy in his home one Erev Shabbos and he asks his Hispanic non-Jewish housekeeper if she can perhaps stay into Shabbos. She agrees readily, but on one condition: they […]
The last mishnah in Masechet Uktzin states: אמר רבי יהושע בן לוי: עתיד הקדוש ברוך הוא להנחיל לכל צדיק וצדיק שלש מאות ועשרה עולמות, שנאמר,”להנחיל לאוהבי יש ואצרתיהם אמלא.” -משלי ח:כא Rabbi Yehoshua ben Levi said: In the future, the Holy One, Blessed is He, will cause every righteous person to inherit 310 worlds, as it says, […]
Ever since my first encounter with Rav Belsky at OU Headquarters, where I had the zechus (privilege) to present shailos, halachic questions, about sensitive kashrus matters to Rav Belsky for almost two decades and to gain from his immense wisdom, I have been spoiled, as have been all of my colleagues at OU Kosher who […]
The source for the laws pertaining to Yoshon are found in Vayikra (23:9-14). These laws are applicable to the Chamishas HaMinim of barley, oats, rye, spelt and wheat.
These grains are Yoshon if they took root prior to Pesach. If the grains did not take root prior to Pesach then they are chadash until the subsequent Pesach. There is a halachic dispute if the hashrashah (grain taking root) must be 3 days or two weeks prior to Pesach. The laws of chadash do not apply to other grains such as rice, corn and buckwheat.
A discussion of the differences between honey and royal jelly in regards to Kosher.
Over the last ten years there has been a veritable explosion in the certification of kosher wine. Kosher wine is now produced on every continent and in most of the world’s premier wine regions. While the manufacture and handling of kosher wines (and grape juice) involves certain unique challenges, with the OU’s experience and expertise these have been met and overcome, providing consumers an ever- increasing variety of kosher wine products.
We are often confronted with a myriad of ingredients and products grouped loosely under the “Dairy” category. The purpose of this discussion is to clarify what those products are and their Halachic status.
The pickle industry, or should I say, the gherkin industry, is a thriving concern pleasing the palates of millions world-wide. Whether it is sliced, speared, hamburger-chip, sour, half-sour, kosher dill, to name just a few varieties, there is a flavor and shape for all sorts of taste buds — and a solid, steady demand for these delicious treats to boot. Quality standards assure a delectable product; OU supervision assures the highest standards of kosher as well.