Gluten Allergies

OU Kosher Staff

Regretfully, because one can only perform the mitzvah of eating matzot at the Seder with a matzah that is made from one of the five varieties of grain (barley, wheat, rye, oats, and spelt), eating matzot using any of the other flours that are gluten free would still not enable one to fulfill the mitzvah.
Some people with gluten allergy use either oat matzah or spelt matzah. While not completely glutenfree, oat matzah is especially soluble and easy to digest. Those with this allergy should discuss the matter with their allergist and Rabbi.

Lakewood Matzoh Bakery has both hand and machine matzah shmurah, baked under GFCO (Gluten Free Certification Organization) supervision.
This matzah is not OU-certified.

To place an order, contact: Lakewood Matzoh Bakery,
501 Prospect Street, Uit 104B, Lakewood, NJ 08701.
Tel: 732.364.8757. Fax: 732.364.4250.
email: sales@lakewoodmatzoh.com.
Website: http://www.lakewoodmatzoh.com

As always, if the performance of a mitzvah such as eating matzah at the Seder would cause a life-threatening allergic reaction, clearly the mitzvah should not be performed. If the allergic reaction, while severe, would not be life-threatening, ask your Rabbi.