Yogurt and Ice Cream Stores

Can I eat at a yogurt or ice cream store that claims it is certified by the OU?

There are many ice cream and yogurt stores bearing the brand name of an OU certified company and/or that sell OU certified products, however the OU generally does not certify the store itself. In such instances, the OU certification extends only as far as a sealed container bearing the OU symbol. Once the container is opened, the OU can no longer vouch for the kosher integrity of the item. For example, while an opened container of ice cream may bear an OU-D, the kosher status may have been compromised by a scoop that was used previously for non-certified flavors. If the entire store is certified, that will be reflected on the OU letter of certification.